Patterns!

Mother and I went to JoAnn’s today to buy a pattern so that I could make a nice high-waisted skirt (because obviously I need another project). Looking at patterns is so much fun! It’s almost like shopping for clothes, except that you get to make them, too. I returned from the store with these exciting purchases:

pattern

A skirt, which I’m going to make up in A length but with B waistband. (I’m sorry this image is enormous, but I can’t seem to find a smaller one.) It was surprisingly difficult to find a high-waisted full skirt, although there were a few compelling high-waisted pencil skirts and a lot of pretty true-waisted skirts.

pattern

Knickers! I was so excited when I saw this pattern that I bought it despite exercising exceptional restraint and NOT buying any pretty dress patterns or basic simple blouses. I don’t wear pants very often, and I’m okay with that as I am not incredibly comfortable in them. But little knee-length short trousers (are these what Dickens referred to as “smalls”?) are just so charming and Dickensian. I want to make these out of some crisp suiting, and maybe some velveteen, and some plaid (oh plaid!), and some corduroy. (And then I want to buy some tall riding boots that actually fit me.)

Speaking of corduroy, I bought some to make the Burda skirt, in a lovely forest green. I even bought lining, because I am determined to do this thing properly even if it means I don’t have an instantaneous garment, and everything feels more professional if it’s lined.

Last, but not least, I found this Vogue jacket pattern that Mother bought me for my birthday a few years ago:

pattern

Isn’t it pretty? The dress is nice too, although it is certainly not what drew me to the pattern. It is perhaps a bit more complex than I can handle right now, but someday! The back of the pattern envelope claims it is “Easy/Facile,” but it looks like an awful lot of pattern pieces to keep straight.

I feel like I’m developing quite a little pattern stash by now, as I have three or four others at home, and it’s pretty thrilling. I want to get more, and make them all! Of course, I still have to learn how to make them fit me…

Some garments that are kicking around in the back of my head:
-A yellow blouse with small puffed sleeves, a peter pan collar, and flower-shaped shell buttons (I love yellow, I really do)
-A royal blue wool circle skirt, knee-length, for winter
And a million and one other things, slightly less clearly pictured. School starts soon, though, and I don’t expect I’ll have a lot of time to sew. It is very sad indeed.

Oh, and I am considering buying another sewing machine. I adore my little Singer Featherweight, absolutely adore it, but I would really like something that at least does zigzag and has a zipper foot. Or, I may just invest in a pair of nice pinking shears and persist in my somewhat impractical sentimentality, because why do something easily when you could do it vintage-ly?

Leave a Reply

