A Work in Progress, Disrupted

I’m leaving this evening to go see Henry V at OSF, but I was really excited for my green corduroy Burda skirt, so I decided to just cut it out, and sew it up when I got back, you know, actually taking time and care to do a project like a proper sewist. I cut out the lining, even though it was slippery, and that was all right. Then I laid out the corduroy and began to seriously doubt that I could get all the pieces out of it since the skirt is on the bias. But, I did! Sure the nap is sort of willy-nilly, maybe, but that doesn’t really bother me a lot, especially since the pleats will sort of break it up anyway and it is such small corduroy.

skirt panels

Look how nice they look! Don’t mind the wrinkles, they kind of laid on my bed while I went to the Post Office.

But wait…

oops

When they’re actually laid out like they would be in a skirt, my mistake is revealed. And SUCH a basic mistake! I cut out the same piece twice, instead of reversing it the second time. It’s not even a matter of nap, it’s a matter of paying attention. I even read the instructions, where they specifically told me not to do this. I did it with my brown skirt two months ago. But I can’t just fix this one like that, because it’s a pattern. And I’m going away in a couple of hours, so my mistake is bound to haunt me all weekend. I still can’t come to terms with the notion that I ruined my skirt, maybe if I shortened the hem all around I could get away with a couple of seams in the wrong places? (Probably not.) I guess it’s yet another sign that I’m not giving the directions the proper respect they deserve.

In other news of failure (but less disappointing, this one), I taught myself to put in a lapped zipper last night. Without a zipper foot, even!

IMGP0281

OK, so it’s an enormous lap, but I have the basic concept down.

zipper skirt

Useful skill aside, the finished project was not something I’d want to wear, so I ripped out the zipper and cut up the skirt, which never fit me very well anyway. I guess my closet is smaller by one garment, then, thank goodness (I am running out of hangers). It would make a nice spot for my new skirt if I can ever rescue it, and really I have to, because my heart is set on this green corduroy and I would be so sad if I had ruined it forever!

3 thoughts on “A Work in Progress, Disrupted

  1. dressesandme

    argh that is so annoying! I did a similar thing with a dress I’m making out of stripy material – i cut the bodice one way and the skirt going the other – sadface!

    Reply
  2. Alice Post author

    Oddly enough, shortening the hem did work! It is perhaps a little less on grain (or off grain, as the case may be), as the pattern calls for, but I think it’ll do.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: A Scholarly Skirt | SIDEWALK STYLE, DIRT ROAD DIGS

Leave a Reply

