Circus Shorts!

I’ve been wanting shorts all summer, but I didn’t want to spend money on a store pair. Shorts are exactly the sort of them that I would spend an hour trying on and considering, and then decide that it wasn’t worth it and I would just do without. So the obvious solution is to make some. If I don’t like them, then at least they provided entertainment value, and I didn’t spend money on them.

These shorts are really more of a muslin or a practice piece for future pairs of shorts, but I did make them, they are my very first pair of shorts, and I do on occasion wear them, so I thought I’d share them here.

Disclaimer: they are very wrinkly. Also, you can see the line of my shirt tucked in. Oh well.

teal shorts

teal shorts

I took the pattern off my best-fitting non-stretchy pair of trousers, which I got secondhand somewhere and which are clearly hand-sewn! I love them, and they fit really well except for a bit of gaping in the back waistband. I tried to eliminate that gape with the shorts, but they still do, a bit, and they are dangerously low-rise… It looks fine in the picture, but it can be uncomfortable to wear.

The fabric is a teal poly-cotton bedsheet. I meant to use the wrong side, which is less shiny, but halfway through inserting the fly I realized that the shiny side was going to be showing, and I didn’t have the heart to take it out when everything was going so well.

teal shorts

The waistband doesn’t match up quite as well as I had hoped. I don’t entirely know how it worked in the original trouser pattern, but I think it needs to be longer. The fly’s a little narrow, too, but I do know what went wrong there.

The hem does an amusing flippy thing. Something about it not being quite even, perhaps. I’ve made another, modified pair, which I finished last night, and it’s not really an issue with them, so I’m not sure.

Something about wearing shiny teal short-shorts can be really tricky. I believe with the right circus-inspired styling (lace tights, blousy top, vest tall boots) they could be kind of fantastic, but usually I just wear a longer top so there’s, well, less teal.

teal shorts

teal shorts

Now that I know what a few of the pattern’s kinks are, I have plans for a cuffed pair in green wool for wearing over tights in the winter. It’s still the heat of summer, but I fear limited sewing time once school starts, so I’ll have to finish my summer sewing list in the next couple of weeks and move onto my fall/winter one (haha! dream on).

2 thoughts on “Circus Shorts!

  1. Alice Keen

    Totally brilliant shorts! I think you’re so clever to have done that. I have had a book on rubbing off patterns for a couple of years but have never tried it.

    Back to the shorts, they fit well by the look of it. Really great job!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

